Show All Answers
If you are interested in making installment payments, please contact our billing office at (813) 929-2724 between the hours of 10:00 am and 4:00 pm, Monday - Thursday.
Our total ambulance budget is approximately $14 million annually, of which our ambulance fees cover approximately $11 million. The balance of the operating cost is subsidized through ad valorem taxes.
A patient has the right to appeal Medicare's decision. In the event that a patient's claim is rejected, they can file an appeal for reconsideration. Simply obtain all of the information regarding your ambulance service (ambulance patient care report, emergency room notes, physician notes, discharge orders, lab results, etc.) and mail them to your Medicare carrier and request an appeal of your denial.
Advanced Life Support, Level 1 (ALS1) $600 Advanced Life Support, Level 2 (ALS2) $600 Rescue Assist (non-transport) $75 Mileage (per mile) $10
Explanation of the levels of emergency transport
If you are calling long-distance, please call (800) 368-2411 and ask the operator for extension 2724.
Medicare, Medicaid and insurance companies consider ambulance service a transportation benefit under their coverage guidelines. As Rescue Assist service does not include transportation of the patient, the fee for this service is always the patient's responsibility. lease refer to your insurance handbook for specific details on your ambulance service benefits.
If you suspect cruelty to livestock, contact the Pasco County Sheriff's Office.
Adoption Partners Application
(813) 929-1212 (727) 834-3216 (352) 521-5194
PCAS contact information and business hours
Pasco County Animal Services
19640 Dogpatch Lane
Land O’ Lakes, FL 34638
There are two private shelters in Pasco:
7734 Congress Street
New Port Richey, FL 34653
Humane Society of Pasco
14945 Harmon Drive
Hudson, FL 34610
You may also contact Mr. Wade Barber's bee removal service at (352) 584-9568 or Bob's Bees at (727) 243-9969 or (727) 946-0118.
Florida Fish and Wildlife
Even though there are not any cat leash laws at this time, there are State Statutes and County Ordinances that require cat owners to have their cats vaccinated against rabies. We will investigate reports of violations of these laws. To report a violation, you would need to call our office and provide our staff with your name and address, as well as the name and address of the cat owners.
If you are a person who is feeding “stray” cats, you can be held responsible for them. As the “owner, harborer or keeper” of an animal, you are responsible for compliance with these local and State laws and can be charged for failure to comply. If you have been feeding “stray” cats, but do not want to be held legally responsible for them, we urge you to consider finding homes for the cats, or bring them to a shelter or rescue organization.
Stray cats can have negative impacts on pets, small domestic stock, and native wildlife. The Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission works with effected parties to protect native wildlife from predation, disease and other impacts presented by feral and free-roaming cats and works cooperatively with other land-management agencies to prevent the release or feeding of cats on public lands supporting wildlife habitat.
If you are feeding stray cats, you are considered to be the owner, harborer, or keeper. As such you must comply with laws requiring rabies vaccinations and to provide medical care if the animals become sick or injured.Read more about FWC policy.
Pasco County does not currently have a cat leash or license law. There are no cat pick up services currently available. At this time, Pasco County has no ordinance requirements, funding or resources to patrol neighborhoods looking for stray cats. Thus, it is not illegal for a person to allow their cat to roam loose.
*If you are experiencing problems caused by owned cats, we suggest you discuss the issue with the cat owner, and request their help in resolving your problems. If these efforts fail, individuals have the option to privately litigate to resolve nuisances caused by another neighbor. If there are more than nine (9) cats owned by one individual, that person may be in violation of County Zoning laws. Contact the County Code Compliance Office to report this type of violation.
Pasco County Animal Services shelter receives over 6,000 cats per year, which are mostly brought to us by private citizens. As of 3/12/2013, Pasco County Animal Services is no longer an "Open Admission" shelter. We do not accept feral or stray cats since there is not a leash law in Pasco County and cats are legally allowed to roam free.
Animal Services may occasionally pick up a cat, but under very specific, limited circumstances. If a stray cat has been seriously injured, such as being hit by a car, for humanitarian purposes we will render aid. If any cat has bitten or scratched someone, we will get involved for public health and safety concerns. Staff will try and locate the animal and place it in quarantine confinement, so the human victim will not have to under go rabies shots. We will also investigate cruelty to animal’s complaints dealing with cats. Call our office to report these types of situations. Code Compliance
Commitment, Respect, Responsibility, Fairness, Kindness, Citizenship, Courage
Request a Speaker form
A dog may be considered a nuisance under the following circumstances, but it is not restricted to:
Frequent or continued barking or howling between the hours of 11:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m.
Frequent or continued barking or howling for periods of ten or more minutes at any time.
Repeatedly digging into, breaking, injuring or damaging shrubbery, trees, lawns, garbage, or stored materials on public or private property.
Frequent or habitual depositing of excreta on property not belonging to the dog owner without the property owner's consent.
Repeatedly running at large on public or private property.
Repeatedly chasing vehicles while off the property of the owner.
Repeatedly chasing passers-by while off the property of the owner.
Repeatedly attacking or attempting to attack other animals while off the property of the owner.
The Mike Fasano Hurricane Shelter11611 Denton AvenueHudson, Florida 34677
Pre-registration is not required.
The Pet Friendly Hurricane shelter is for the pets of people that reside in Hurricane Evacuation Zone A, B, or C.
It is strongly recommended that the Pet Friendly Shelter be used only if you cannot make any other arrangements. The shelter has limited space for pets (cats and dogs only) and there is a limit of two pets per household. You are required to care for your own pet, bring supplies (including a crate and leash) and provide proof of vaccination when checking into the shelter.
Dogs should wear the required Pasco County License on their collar.
Cats should have an optional Pasco County License on their collar or another tag with identification information.
Owners should bring proof of current vaccinations .
Owners must provide proof of current rabies vaccination for their cat and dog (1 yr or 3 yr).
The Pet Friendly Shelter is not a boarding facility! You must stay at the Mike Fasano Hurricane Shelter and be available to care for your pets. If you leave the shelter without taking your pets, the animals will be considered abandoned and will be surrendered to Pasco County Animal Services in accordance with the Animal Services Ordinance or policy.
Mike Fasano Hurricane Shelter
License Fee: $5 cats (voluntary), $25 dogs (intact) and $5 dogs (sterilized). License fees are annual.
NOTE: Effective 4/1/2013: There will be an increase in License fees - $25-$35 for an Intact Dog and $5-$10 for a Sterilized Dog.
NOTE: EFFECTIVE 3/12/2013, PASCO COUNTY ANIMAL SERVICES ACCEPTS CASH, CHECK OR CREDIT CARDS AS PAYMENT.
The fee to convene the Dangerous Dog Hearing Board is payable by CASH ONLY.
Pasco County Animal Services is a government agency and does not provide financial assistance to citizens. Friends of Animal Services, Inc. is a non-profit organization that provides assistance to Animal Services to enhance the care of homeless animals at the shelter. They do not provide financial assistance to the public.
For tips and a listing of organizations that may be able to provide help, visit the
HSUS pet assistance information page.
Hot Weather Tips from the ASPCA
Customer Service (Administration)Building B Monday through Friday: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.Saturday, Sunday and Holidays: Closed
Field Services(Animal Control Officers)Building BMonday through Friday: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.Saturday, Sunday, Holidays: 24 Hour Emergency Services(emergencies only!)Information Revised 4/29/11Pasco County Animal Services
Post the animal on FidoFinder.com or TabbyTracker.com Create and post a flyer with pictures Put an ad in the local newspaper Contact the police if you think the pet was stolen Contact veterinarians in your area Visit Animal Services every day to look for your pet
Post the animal on FidoFinder.com or TabbyTracker.com Advertise in the newspaper (may be free) Bring the animal to Animal Services (hours are posted on website www.pascocountyfl.net) after 12 noon. Keep the animal at your home for 90 days AND advertise
Remember that under the law, pets are personal property. You may NOT keep a pet that you found without taking steps for 90 days to find the owner. If the verifiable owner comes forward, you must return the animal. Keep receipts for expenses incurred while caring for the animal. The owner must reimburse you for these expenses before the pet is returned.
The animal is not yours to give away or sell! If you cannot care for the animal while searching for the owner, bring the dog/cat to Animal Services.
Cats: $40 plus $5 optional license tag.
Pocket Pets: $10 rabbits, reptiles, birds and rodents are sometimes available.
Spay/Neuter Rebate Program
A rebate is available to dog license tag holders that have their pet’s sterilization performed by a
PASCO COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS WILL PAY YOU $40.00 TO BE A RESPONSIBLE DOG OWNER! TO RECEIVE YOUR $40.00 REBATE,
PLEASE FOLLOW THESE SIMPLE INSTRUCTIONS:
1. Your dog must have a current $25 Pasco County Dog License prior to sterilization.
2. Take your dog to a participating licensed veterinarian for sterilization. (A participating vet is one who sells Pasco County licenses)
3. Complete the top portion of the Spay/Neuter Rebate Certificate.
4. Make sure your pet’s license number is listed on the top of the form.
5. Have the veterinarian complete the lower portion of the rebate certificate.
6. Return the completed Spay/Neuter Rebate Certificate form within 30 DAYS OF SURGERY. The mailing address is on the form.
7. Your rebate will be mailed to you approximately 10 weeks later.
• Pasco County residents only.
• Dog sterilization only.
• Rebate will not exceed cost of sterilization.
• Rebate offered as funds are available on first come first served basis.
• Funds derived from a percentage of the cost of unaltered dog tags.
Be a Responsible Pet Owner
Stop Pet Overpopulation
Spay/Neuter Your Pet
New Port Richey Government CenterCustomer Services Window (Information Desk)8731 Citizens DrNew Port Richey, FL 34654
Dade City Government CenterCustomer Service Window14235 6th StreetDade City, FL 33525
Pasco County Animal Services - Building B19640 Dogpatch LaneLand O' Lakes, FL 34638
There may be a nominal printing charge.
Provided as a Public Education Message.
This is a government program, not a program of Animal Services. Please direct all questions to Kristen Sellas.
You can find additional information about veterans and service dogs at Vets Adopt Pets.
Spay and Neuter Clinics
Existing Volunteers are required to submit a new application every January.
The electronic application and descriptions of various volunteer positions may be found under the Volunteer tab at www.pascocountyfl.net Positions subject to change at any time and are not guaranteed to be available.
Thank you for your interest! PCAS is a public, county operated, open admission shelter with one location, Dogpatch Lane in Land O' Lakes. We are not affiliated with any other shelter in Pasco County.
If you need to satisfy COURT ORDERED COMMUNITY SERVICE HOURS, OPERATION PAYBACK, OR INTERVENTION PROGRAM HOURS, do NOT complete a volunteer application. Please call Customer Service for information (727) 834-3216, (813) 929-1212, (352) 521-5194 Monday - Friday, 8 am - 5 pm or visit the Administration Building (Building B) during the same hours.
Obtain a copy of the rules.
The county has set a limitation on the types and amount of fees that may be charged. The original fees may be found in Resolution 07-169 As of 2010, the maximum base rate has increased $5.00 because of an increase in the CPI.Â For example, if a car is abandoned in a strip mall and the owner of the strip mall calls for a class A wrecker to remove it without the permission of the owner of the car, the tow company can charge a maximum base rate of $105.00 ($100.00 + $5.00 CPI increase). The wrecker company may also charge for storage and other services outlined in Resolution 07-169, but only at the rates set out in the document.
Note: The house must be vacant for the inspection to occur.
Their number is: (352) 521-4345
The requirements of the Florida Green Book may also apply and if more stringent would supersede the requirements of the Land Development Code.
The Emergency Services will respond to the request by letter.The letter will contain the location of the nearest fire hydrant as well as the nearest fire station and the ISO rating (Insurance Service Org)
For Subdivisions and Right-of-Way sites Engineering Inspections follows the U.S. Department of Justice Standards; contact person- Dean Perkins ADA Coordinator D.O.T. @ 1-850-414-4395.
Please be aware of our Internet and PC Use Policy
In east Pasco County, the office is located at:14450 7th St.Dade City, FL 33525
In east Pasco County, please contact the Misdemeanor Probation Court by calling (352) 521-4250. The office is on the second floor of the County Courthouse in Room 224 located at:38053 Live Oak Ave.Dade City, FL 33525
If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact us. (727) 847-2411(813) 996-2411(352) 523-2411
If you have additional questions regarding a road closure, you can contact Pasco County's Customer Service department through our on line service center or at one of the following phone numbers:(727) 847-2411 (New Port Richey)(352) 523-2411 (Dade City)(813) 996-2411 (Land O' Lakes)
Public fingerprinting:Livescan fingerprinting services schedule:Pasco Sheriff's Office Gulf View Square Mall, 9410 U.S. 19, Port Richey. Phone: (727) 834-3376Wednesdays from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. (excluding holidays).Complimentary fingerprinting services are only provided for the following state statutory reasons:1. Concealed Weapons Permit Applicants2. F.S. 499.63 - Application for licenses for certain drug, cosmetic and household products3. F.S. 537.004 - Title loan lender license applicants4. F.S. 539.001 - Pawnbroker's license5. F.S. 648.34 - Bail Bond agent applicants6. Application for an expungement of records. 7. Application for process serversOther fingerprinting services are available through private vendors. A list of these vendors is available from the Florida Department of Law Enforcement's website:http://www.fdle.state.fl.us/Content/Criminal-History/Livescan-Service-Providers-and-Device-Vendors.aspx
(1)(a) Every operator of a motor vehicle as defined herein, while transporting a child in a motor vehicle operated on the roadways, streets, or highways of this state, shall, if the child is 5 years of age or younger, provide for protection of the child by properly using a crash-tested, federally approved child restraint device. For children aged through 3 years, such restraint device must be a separate carrier or a vehicle manufacturer's integrated child seat. For children aged 4 through 5 years, a separate carrier, an integrated child seat, or a seat belt may be used.
NO LARGE LOADS of construction debris, brush, or trash will be accepted after 4:30 pm. The gates and scales will be closed at 4:30 pm.
b. Yard waste is charged $56.70 per ton, prorated.
c. Tires are charged $100 per ton. Car and pickup truck tires are charged $1.00 per tire up to ten. Over ten, they are charged $100.00 per ton. Large truck/semi-tractor trailer tires are charged $5.00 per tire up to ten. Over ten, they are charged $100.00 per ton. Off-road equipment tires are charged $100.00 per ton.
d. Items that require special handling (large loads of trash requiring escort to the Waste-To-Energy) are charged $56.70 per ton, prorated.
e. Refrigerators and air conditioners brought in by residents will be charged $3.00 per item; however, appliances brought in by commercial haulers will be charged $56.70 per ton. Propane tanks (20 gallons) are $3.00 each. Propane tanks up to 50 gallons are $5.00 each.
f. Electronics, computer equipment, and television sets up to 36 inches brought in by residents will be charged $5.00 per item. Projection and TVs over 36 inches are $10.00 per item. Computer monitors are $5.00 each. Items brought in by commercial haulers will be charged $200.00 per ton.
g. Tare weights are charged $2.00 each.
If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact us at (727) 847-2411, (813) 996-2411 or (352) 523-2411.
If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact us at (727) 847-2411, (813) 996-2411 or (352)523-2411.
To open an account, you will need to provide the following:
• Billing name on the account (only one name on the account)
• Service address
• Mailing address
• Date you want the service to begin
• Contact phone number
• A copy of your signed and dated lease if you are renting
• Proof of ownership if you are the owner
• A copy of your current driver's license or State-issued photo ID.
Fees for Water and Sewer Account: • Deposit for homeowners is $168.00 • Deposit for renters is $202.00 Deposits are held in a non-interest bearing account. The deposit will be credited back to the account after 24 consecutive months of on-time payments; or, when the account is closed, the deposit will be applied to the bill. Any credits will be mailed to the person whose name is on the account in 6-8 weeks after the final read on the account. • If the water at the new service address is turned off, there is a fee of $55.00 for turn-on the next day or any day thereafter. If you are requesting a same day turn-on, the fee is $95.00. Applications must be made prior to 4:00 pm for a same day turn-on. • Any unpaid balance or fees on an existing or prior account must be paid in full prior to opening a new account. If you need to inquire about any unpaid balances, call (727) 847-8131, (352) 521-4285, or (813) 235-6012 and a Customer Information and Services Representative will assist you.
• Billing name on the account (only one name on the account)
• Service address
• Mailing address
• Date the service is to begin
• Contact phone number
• A copy of your signed and dated lease if you are renting
• Proof of ownership
• A copy of your current driver's license or State-issued photo ID.
DEPOSITSWATER/SEWER ACCOUNTSDeposit for homeowners: $168.00Deposit for renters: $202.00WATER ONLY ACCOUNTSDeposit for homeowners: $56.00Deposit for renters: $67.00SEWER ONLY ACCOUNTSDeposit for homeowners: $168.00Deposit for renters: $202.00
If the water at the new service address is turned off, there is a turn-on fee of $55.00 for turn-on the next day or any day thereafter.
If you are mailing your information and fees, please call (727) 847-8131, (352) 521-4285 or (813) 235-6012, three business days prior to the date you are requesting the service to start in order to confirm receipt of your request.
For application by mail, please send to: Pasco County Utilities Post Office Box 2139 New Port Richey, FL 34656-2139
For overnight application use Fed Ex or UPS (do not use Post Office): Pasco County Utilities 7536 State Street, Suite 118 New Port Richey, FL 34654
Deposits are held in a non-interest bearing account. The deposit will be credited back to the account after 24 consecutive months of on-time payments; or, when the account is closed, the deposit will be applied to the bill. Any credits will be mailed to the person whose name is on the account in 6-8 weeks after the final read on the account.
If the water at the new service address is turned off, there is a fee of $55.00 for turn-on the next day or any day thereafter. If you are requesting a same day turn-on, the fee is $95.00.
14236 6th Street, 2nd Floor, Dade City, Florida 33523 Telephone: (352) 521-4285
Or you may e-mail your request for services to be discontinued to email@example.com.
Please provide the following information:
• Name on the account
• Account number
• Forwarding address
• Date that your are requesting the service be stopped
• Contact telephone number
A request for termination of services must be received three business days prior to the date of termination. A final read will be taken on your meter and a final bill will be sent to your forwarding address. If you have a deposit on the account, it will be applied to the charges. Credits will be mailed to the customer in 6 to 8 weeks after the final bill.
The office hours in the New Port Richey location are 8:00 am to 5:00 pm; Wednesday 8:00 am to 5:30 pm, telephone service is 8:00 am to 5:00 pm.
The office hours in the Dade City location are 8:00 am to 4:30 pm.
Location Telephone Number Facsimile NumberPh: (727) 847-8131 Fx: (727) 847-8972 New Port Richey
Ph: (352) 521-4285 Fx: (352) 521-4158 Dade City
Ph: (813) 235-6012 Land O' Lakes
Emergency Telephone Number (AFTER-HOURS EMERGENCY REPAIRS ONLY): (727) 847-8144
ONLINE CREDIT CARD PAYMENTSVisit www.pascoeasypay.com. Enter the account number without dashes and the PIN code on your bill. Account numbers and PIN codes contain no letters, only numbers. Your account number is located on the customer bill in the right hand corner. The PIN number is located on the customer bill on the left side. Only one payment can be made in 24 hours. Payments post to the customer’s account the next business day.
CREDIT CARD PAYMENTS OVER THE PHONECall 727-847-8131 or 813-235-6012 or 352-521-4285. Visa, MasterCard, and Discover only. The name on the credit card must match the name on the utilities account. The total balance due will be charged to the credit card account. No partial payment or overpayments can be made. Only one payment can be made in 24 hours. Payments post to the customer’s account the next business day.
CREDIT CARD PAYMENT AT THE BRANCH OFFICEYou can pay your water/sewer bill by Visa, MasterCard or Discover at the Pasco County Utilities Dade City office or New Port Richey office. The credit card must be signed by the person whose name is on the credit card. Multiple payments can be made in 24 hours. Payments post to the customer’s account in two business days. No debit cards requiring PIN numbers are taken.
New Port Richey Customer Information & Services Office7536 State Street, Suite 118New Port Richey, FL 34654
Dade City Customer Information & Services OfficeEast Pasco Government Center14236 Sixth Street (2nd Floor)Dade City, FL 33525
ELECTRONIC FUNDS TRANSFER (EFT)To pay by EFT, submit a voided check with your name, address, telephone number, name of bank and your utility account number. Mail or drop off your voided check to one of our branch locations and request this service. It will take approximately five or six weeks for the service to start, so continue to pay your utility bill by check, cash, credit card or money order until your bill indicates the amount due will be electronically transferred.
Where can I find my account number on my bill?
The account number is located on the customer bill in the top right-hand corner.
Where can I find my pin number on my bill?
The PIN code is located on the customer bill in the Customer Service Information box.
Is it safe to pay my account online?
Yes. All information is encrypted, and credit card information is not saved in our system.
What are the hours to pay online?
Anytime except weekday nights from 3:00 a.m. to 6:00 a.m. when the site is offline for routine maintenance. On Saturdays and Sundays, www.pascoeasypay.com is available 24 hours each day.How do I access to pay my bill over the phone?(727) 847-8131
Is my credit card information saved?
No credit card information is saved in our system; we process the payment real time and discard the credit card information.
Can my credit card be charged automatically each month?
No, because we do not save your credit card information. For automatic payments each month, enroll in the Easy Pay Electronic Funds Transfer payment option.
Can I use a debit card to pay my water/sewer bill?
The debit card must bear the VISA, MASTER CARD or DISCOVER logo. Some banks block the card from internet usage for security reasons.
14236 6th Street, 2nd Floor Dade City, FL 33525 (Click here for map of location) Hours of operation (8:00 a.m.–4:30 p.m., Monday–Friday)
What are the fees if my account is disconnected for non-payment?
DEPOSITSWATER/SEWER ACCOUNTSDeposit for homeowners: $168.00Deposit for renters: $202.00
WATER ONLY ACCOUNTSDeposit for homeowners: $56.00Deposit for renters: $67.00
SEWER ONLY ACCOUNTSDeposit for homeowners: $168.00Deposit for renters: $202.00
ArmyPersonnel discharged November 1, 1912 to January 1, 1960 80% Distroyed
Air Force Personnel discharged September 25, 1947 to January 1, 1964 (with names alphabetically after Hubbard, James E.) 75% distroyed
WEST Pasco, 8620 Galen Wilson Blvd., Port Richey, FL 34668, Phone (727) 834-3282
CENTRAL Pasco, 4111 Land O'Lakes Blvd. (US 41), Suite 302, Hap Clark Bldg., Land O'Lakes, FL 34638 (813) 929-2719
EAST Pasco, 13853 15th St., Dade City, FL 33525, Phone: (352) 521-5172
a. Copy down the numbers (from left to right) on the meter's gallon register. Do not use any water for a period of four hours. Take another reading from your meter's gallon register after the four-hour testing period and compare it to the first reading. If the reading is higher, there may be a water leak.
b. To help pinpoint the location of the leak as inside or outside the dwelling, close the house valve (generally located on an outside wall where the waterline enters the dwelling or near the water heater).
c. Repeat Step a. above. If the meter continues to move, the leak may be outside the dwelling in the service line that leads from the meter to the dwelling or in any water-using device that may be hooked into the system outside the dwelling. If the meter does not move after your second test, the leak may be inside the dwelling.
Checking the toilets for leaks. The most common leaks are toilet leaks, and they can be the most costly because they represent the greatest water usage in the home. A leaky toilet can waste over 200 gallons of water per day. Left unfixed, it can waste over 73,000 gallons of water a year. To check both the flush valve and the refill valve for leakage, simply put a couple drops of dark food coloring or a dye tablet in the tank. Do this when the tank is fully refilled after a flush. Do not use the toilet. Then check the bowl after 30 minutes. If colored water is in the bowl, there is a leak. Checking the faucets for leaks. Another common source for leaks is the faucet. A leaky faucet can waste more than 20 gallons of water per day. Leaking faucets are usually caused by worn washers or "O" rings. Water lost because of a delay in leaky faucet repair can be more costly than buying the replacement parts. Checking the water softener. If you have a water softener, are you adding more salt than usual? The water softener may be regenerating more often than it should. Check the setting. Checking the irrigation system. Take a reading before and after the sprinkling cycle to document how much water a normal cycle uses. Subtract the start reading from the end reading to get consumption used by each sprinkling cycle. Multiply this number by the number of times you irrigate your lawn each week. Multiply that by the number of weeks in the month to reach a monthly consumption number for irrigation. If you have a pool, have you added water or refilled the pool?
Applications for rezoning are submitted to the Permits & Development Information Services Department. You can contact a Zoning Specialist by calling (727) 847-8132.
The review procedure is:1. Review procedure: An application for a conditional use permit must be submitted to the Permits and Development Information Services Department. The county planning commission and the board of county commissioners shall hold separate public hearings on such an application within 60 days after all information and facts comprising the application have been submitted. Due public notice shall be given prior to the said hearings.2.Â Â Â Public Notice Required:Â The public hearings referenced above shall be preceded by publication of notice of the time, place, and purpose of the hearing or hearings, in a newspaper of general circulation in the county, with the first such publication to be at least 15 days prior to the date of the hearing and the second such publication to be at least five days prior to the hearing, excluding Sundays and legal holidays. For the purposes of compliance with this provision, notice of both hearings may be given simultaneously, provided the time requirements set forth above are either met or exceeded.
In addition to the above-noticed requirements, a sign shall be posted on the land which is the subject of the hearing, at least 15 days prior to the date of the public hearing by the planning commission. The sign shall be erected on the property in such a manner as to allow the public to view the same from one or more streets. In the case of landlocked property, the sign shall be erected on the nearest street right-of-way, with an attached notation indicating the general distance and direction to the property for which the conditional use is sought. In all cases, the number of signs to be used shall be left to the discretion of the zoning administrator, or his designee; provided, that the numbers shall be reasonably calculated to adequately inform the public of the proposed conditional use.
Notice of the time, place, and purpose of the public hearings shall also be mailed to owners of property directly affected by the hearing. For the purposes of this Code, persons or property owners directly affected by the conditional use shall be presumed to be those who own property immediately abutting the property lines of the land for which the conditional use is sought, or who own property immediately across a street or other easement from such land. For the purposes of this Code, names and addresses of property owners shall be deemed those appearing on the latest ad valorem tax rolls of the county.
Proof of publication, mailing, and posting of the notice required above shall be presented, by affidavit, at the public hearings held by the board of county commissioners.
Written final determination: The final determination of the board of county commissioners shall be a written form issued to an applicant after the completion of the review and public hearings.
The review procedures are:
1. Applications for special exceptions shall be submitted at least 45 days prior to the scheduled public hearing before the planning commission.
2. The public hearings referenced above shall be preceded by publication of notice of the time, place, and purpose of the hearing or hearings, in a newspaper of general circulation in the county, with the first such publication to be at least 15 days prior to the date of the hearing and the second such publication to be at least five days prior to the hearing, excluding Sundays and legal holidays. For the purposes of compliance with this provision, notice of both hearings may be given simultaneously, provided the time requirements set forth above are either met or exceeded.
In addition to the above-noticed requirements, a sign shall be posted on the land which is the subject of the hearing, at least 15 days prior to the date of the public hearing by the planning commission. The sign shall be erected on the property in such a manner as to allow the public to view the same from one or more streets. In the case of landlocked property, the sign shall be erected on the nearest street right-of-way, with an attached notation indicating the general distance and direction to the property for which the special exception is sought. In all cases, the number of signs to be used shall be left to the discretion of the zoning administrator, or his designee; provided, that the numbers shall be reasonably calculated to adequately inform the public of the proposed special exception.
Notice of the time, place, and purpose of the public hearings shall also be mailed to owners of property directly affected by the hearing. For the purposes of this code, persons or property owners directly affected by the special exception shall be presumed to be those who own property immediately abutting the property lines of the land for which the special exception is sought, or who own property immediately across a street or other easement from such land. For the purposes of this code, names and addresses of property owners shall be deemed those appearing on the latest ad valorem tax rolls of the county.
Proof of publication, mailing, and posting of the notice required above shall be presented, by affidavit, at the public hearing held by the planning commission.
The Planning Commission is the final action body in regard to Special Exception Permits.
B. Definitional provisions. As used with reference to the review and revocation of conditional use permits or special exception uses in accordance with this section, the term board shall mean the board of county commissioners.
C. Request for review.1. Any person who is substantially and adversely affected by a conditional use or a special exception use which has been authorized by the board of county commissioners or planning commission may petition the board of county commissioners for a review of the said conditional use or special exception, at a public hearing where such use, or the continuation of such use:a. Constitutes an annoyance to the communityb. Is injurious to the health, safety, or welfare of the community or of the publicc. Tends to corrupt the manners and morals of the public or of the communityd. Tends to attract vagrants, loiterers, or habitually intoxicated individualse. Has a history of repeated incidents of violencef. Results in a substantial depreciation or lowering of property values in the community or neighborhood
2. The affected person shall present a petition bearing the signature of at least ten property owners of the immediate affected area in which the conditional use or special exception is located, as a prerequisite to review of the conditional use permit or special exception by the board of county commissioners. The said petition shall be filed with the zoning administrator or his designee and, upon determination of probable cause as to the existence of the conditions recited by the petitioner, shall be presented to the board of county commissioners, with an indication as to the factual circumstances and reasons which necessitate review by the board of county commissioners. The applicant shall submit a fee to defray the cost of processing and reviewing the petition.
3. No petition shall be reviewed by the board of county commissioners where a previous review has already occurred in accordance with the procedures of this section, unless the petitioner demonstrates that a material change of circumstances has occurred since the last review. Petitions which do not allege facts which demonstrate a material change in circumstances may be summarily dismissed by the zoning administrator or the board of county commissioners, prior to the public hearing.D. Review and revocation of conditional use permit or special exception by the board of county commissioners.1. Upon presentation of a petition filed in accordance with the provisions of paragraph C.2. Above, the board of county commissioners shall schedule a public hearing on the petition, for the purpose of reviewing the conditional use permit or special exception. Notice of the time and place of such hearing, and of the allegations contained in the petition, shall be given in writing to the party to whom the conditional use permit or special exception was issued. In addition, notice shall be given to adjoining property owners in the same manner as was required prior to the original grant of the conditional use permit or special exception by the board of county commissioners or planning commission, respectively. In addition, any publication of notice which is required prior to the grant of a conditional use permit or special exception by the board of county commissioners or planning commission shall be required. All notice required by this section shall be given in the same form and within the same time limits as is normally utilized in the consideration of an original grant of a conditional use permit or special exception.
2. At the public hearing, the board of county commissioners shall take testimony from all parties and, upon consideration of the evidence presented, shall have the authority to, upon a finding that the evidence establishes the existence of one or more criteria set forth in section 303.5C.1., above:a. Revoke the conditional use permit or special exception approval; orb. Permit the continuation of the conditional use or special exception, with additional conditions or stipulations. If no such finding is made, the board of county commissioners shall permit the continuation of the conditional use or special exception.
Petitions for the review of a conditional use permit or special exception approval would be submitted to the Permits and Development Information Department.
B. Section 303.3 is applicable to all unincorporated areas in the county upon which alcoholic beverages are to be sold or consumed.
C. Nothing herein contained shall be construed to permit the sale or consumption of alcoholic beverages at any site in the unincorporated area of the county where there was no building in existence on the original date of adoption of this code, without compliance with the provisions of section 303.3.
D. A conditional use application must be filed for properties in planned unit developments and master planned unit developments before a conditional use will be permitted in an area which is designated for uses comparable to those allowed in a zoning district in which conditional uses are identified as a possible use of property.
Verification of alcohol permits and Conditional Use Applications are conducted/applied for at the Permits and Development Information Services Department.
Accessory buildings or structures shall not be constructed within five feet of any rear or side lot line. No building or structure shall be located within 15 feet of the mean high water line. This applies to dwelling structures, accessory buildings, enclosed swimming pools, and any type of construction that presents a visually solid type wall.
A. The pool is intended and is to be used solely for the enjoyment of the occupants of the principal use of the property on which it is located.
B. It may be located only in the rear yard or side yard of the property on which it is an accessory use, or in the front yard if the parcel is more than five acres in size.
C. It may not be located, including any walls or accessory structures adjacent thereto, closer than five feet to any property line of the property on which located.
D. The swimming pool area or the entire property on which it is located shall be either walled, fenced, enclosed, or otherwise protected so as to protect uncontrolled access by children from the street or from adjacent properties. The said barrier shall not be less than four feet in height and shall be maintained in good condition. When a fence is used, the requirements are:1. All residentially zoned or used property.a. No openings shall be greater than four inches in width, except for necessary gates.b. Metal or wire, if used, shall not be less than 11.5 gauge.c. Barbed wire fences are permitted in agricultural districts over one acre, provided the minimum height is four feet and providing the said fence consists of a minimum of six strands separated by a minimum of eight inches.
E. Swimming pools enclosed by a screen mesh shall maintain a minimum five-foot side and rear setback from the property lines.
F. Aboveground pools with a side wall(s) more than four feet in height need not be fenced or enclosed, provided access to the interior of the pool is so constructed or installed as to prevent access thereto by persons other than the owners or occupants.
G. Split rail or picket fences shall be minimum four feet in height with a maximum spacing of four inches between rails or posts.
Permits for Private Swimming Pools and any Screen Mesh Pool Cages are applied for at the Central Permitting Division.
Dwelling units commonly referred to as timeshares, vacation rentals, and holiday rentals which possess the above characteristics are included within this definition. Bed and breakfast establishments are excluded from the definition. Also excluded from the definition are multiple-family dwellings, the individual units of which are offered exclusively for rent. The exemption of multiple-family dwellings from the definition of short-term rental shall not be construed as authorizing multiple-family dwellings to be operated as hotels, motels, or other transient lodging establishments.
A short-term rental shall not be made available for periods of less than six days at a time.
Applications for Class II development projects are submitted to the Zoning and Site Development Department.