How do I become a firefighter in Florida?
To be a career Firefighter in the State of Florida, an individual must submit an Application for Certification as a Firefighter II. Then successfully complete the Firefighter Minimum Standards Course, or have received an equivalent amount of training in another state (or country), and pass the state written and practical examinations, as required by State Statute. The Firefighter Minimum Standards course currently consists of a minimum of 360-hours of training. The first 160-hours includes NFPA Firefighter I and Florida specific requirements. The following 200-hours includes NFPA Firefighter II and Florida specific requirements. An individual who holds a Florida Firefighter One Certificate of Competency may enter the Firefighter Minimum Standards Course at the start of the Firefighter II training, if permissible by the Certified Training Center.

Show All Answers

1. Do you teach CPR and First Aid Classes?
2. Does Pasco County accept the National Registry License job placement?
3. How do I become a firefighter in Florida?
4. How old must I be to be able to become a Firefighter, EMT or Paramedic?
5. I am a certified firefighter in Florida, can I apply to work for Pasco County Fire Rescue?
6. I am a Florida Certified Paramedic. What classes do I need to take to keep my license current?
7. I am certified as a Firefighter II in another state, can I transfer my certificate to Florida?
8. What could keep me from working as a Paramedic, Firefighter or an EMT in Pasco County?
9. What if I am certified as an EMT II in New Jersey, can I apply for a job as a Paramedic for Pasco County?
10. What kind of education do I need to become a Paramedic?